skip all navigationskip to breadcrumb navigationskip to section navigation

Organizational Structure

Organizational Chart

Board of Trustees
Nancy K. Kopp
State Treasurer, Chairman
Peter Franchot
Comptroller of the Treasury, Vice Chairman
Appointed by Governor to 4-year terms
  • Eric D. Brotman, 2015-2019
  • Michael J. Stafford, Jr. 2017-2019
  • David B. Hamilton, 2016-2020
  • Linda A. Herman, 2013-2017
  • F. Patrick Hughes, 2013-2017
  • James M. Harkins, 2010-2014
  • Charles W. Johnson, 2015-2019
Elected by members and beneficiaries of the Employees' retirement and pension systems
  • Jamaal R. A. Craddock, 2018-2021
  • Sheila Hill, 2015-2019
Elected by members and beneficiaries of the State Police retirement system
Richard E. Norman, 2014-2018
Elected by members & beneficiaries of the Teachers' retirement & pension systems
  • Douglas Prouty, 2017-2021
  • Theresa Lochte, 2015-2019
Ex officio
  • Nancy K. Kopp, Treasurer
  • David R. Brinkley, Secretary of Budget and Management
  • Peter Franchot, Comptroller of the Treasury
Legal Counsel
Rachel S. Cohen, Principal Counsel, OAG
Investment Committee
  • Chosen by the Board of Trustees
    • F. Patrick Hughes, Chairman
    • Linda A. Herman, Vice Chairman
    • David R. Brinkley
    • Eric D. Brotman
    • Jamaal R. A. Craddock
    • Peter Franchot
    • David B. Hamilton
    • James M. Harkins
    • Sheila Hill
    • Charles W. Johnson
    • Nancy K. Kopp
    • Theresa Lochte
    • Richard E. Norman
    • Michael J. Stafford, Jr.
  • Public members appointed to 3-year terms by the Board, with approval by the Board of Public Works
    • Stephen M. Kitsoulis, 2017-2020
    • Vacant
    • Michael K. Barry, July 1, 2016-June 30, 2019
Audit Committee

Chosen by the Board

  • Richard E. Norman, Acting Chairman
  • Vacant, Vice Chairman
  • David B. Hamilton
  • F. Patrick Hughes
  • Theresa Lochte
Administrative Committee

Chosen by the Board

  • James M. Harkins, Chairman
  • Theresa Lochte, Vice-Chairman
  • David R. Brinkley
  • Sheila Hill
  • Nancy K. Kopp
  • Richard E. Norman
Corporate Governance Committee

Chosen by the Board

  • Sheila Hill, Chairman
  • Vacant, Vice Chairman
  • David R. Brinkley
  • Eric D. Brotman
  • James M. Harkins
  • Charles W. Johnson
  • Nancy K. Kopp
Securities Litigation

Chosen by the Board

  • David B. Hamilton, Chairman
  • Charles W. Johnson, Vice Chairman
  • F. Patrick Hughes
  • James M. Harkins
State Retirement Agency

R. Dean Kenderdine, Executive Director

Internal Audit
David Rongione CFE, CRMA, Chief Internal Auditor
Business Operations Office
Chandra Puranam, Project Business Sponsor
External Affairs
  • Michael D. Golden, Director
  • Anne E. Gawthrop, Director of Legislative Affairs
Finance Division
  • Melody L. Countess, CPA, Chief Operating Officer
  • Patricia Fitzhugh, Deputy Chief Operating Officer
Budget and Contracts
Van Lewis, Director
General Accounting
Delores Mitchell, Director
Office Services
Lawrence Banks, Director
Information Systems
  • Ira R. Greenstein, Chief Information Systems Officer
  • Robert Diehl, Deputy Chief Information Systems Officer
Pension Systems Operation
Vincent Johnson, Director
Network Operations
H. "Joe" Puller, Director
Systems Development
Thomas R. Montanye, Director
Information Systems Security and Quality
David S. Toft Sr., CISSP, Director
Investment Division
Andrew C. Palmer, CFA, Chief Investment Officer
  • Robert Burd, CFA, Deputy Chief Investment Officer
  • David Ferguson, Managing Director
  • Larry P. Katsafanas, CFA, Managing Director
  • Stephen Reilly, Managing Director
  • Patricia A. Wild, Managing Director
  • Elizabeth Burton, Managing Director
Retirement Administration Division

Harvey Raitzyk, Retirement Administrator

  • Kenneth M. Reott, Deputy Retirement Administrator
  • Kimberly O'Keeffe, Deputy Retirement Administrator
Special Projects
  • Megan Myers, Director
Member Services and Counseling
  • Robin McClelland, Director
  • Laura Gorrell, CEBS, Deputy Director
Benefits Processing
  • Charles D. So, Director
  • Carla Foster, Deputy Director
Data Control
  • Leshia Cornish-Covington, Director
  • Princess Tillman, Deputy Director